CHPNA® of the Year Award

The Certified Hospice and Palliative Nursing Assistant of the Year Award presented by the Hospice and Palliative Credentialing Center recognizes the work of all hospice and palliative nursing assistants from across the country.

Recipients will receive:

  • HPCC covers the cost of renewal for the CHPNA® certification
  • Award with engraving 
  • Travel to an HPNA Annual event (if applicable)
  • Certified Hospice and Palliative Nursing Assistant (CHPNA®)
  • Members of the HPCC board, Examination Development Committees, and Awards Selection Committee are ineligible
  • The individual personifies excellence in the clinical practice as a hospice/palliative nursing assistant
  • The individual provides leadership through mentorship of others in hospice/palliative care
  • All nominations are reviewed and the recipient is selected by the Awards Selection Committee of HPCC

Applications are due July 1, 2024

HPCC CHPNA® of the Year Award Recipients
2024 – Ryann Demshar, CHPNA®

Ryann Demshar works at Hospice of the Western Reserve in Ohio and has been an aide for 15 years and certified for 11. She is recognized for her exceptional care and the time she spends bedside with her patients and families. She is committed to hospice and palliative philosophies and encourages and supports others to obtain additional training and certification.

2017 – 2023
  • Nicole Stephens, HNA, CHPNA®
  • 2022: Stephanie Resto, HNA, CHPNA®
  • 2021: Nancy Washko, CHPNA®
  • 2020: Michele Watson, HNA, CHPNA®
  • 2018: Audrey Boylan, CHPNA®
  • 2017: Sabrina Madrid, STNA, CHPNA®