ACHPN® of the Year Award

The Advanced Certified Hospice and Palliative Nurse of the Year Award presented by the Hospice and Palliative Credentialing Center recognizes the work of all hospice and palliative advanced practice nurses from across the country.

Recipients will receive:

  • HPCC covers the cost of renewal for the ACHPN® certification
  • Award with engraving 
  • Travel to an HPNA Annual event (if applicable)
  • Advanced Certified Hospice and Palliative Nurse (ACHPN®)
  • Members of the HPCC board, Examination Development Committees, and Awards Selection Committee are ineligible
  • The individual personifies excellence in the professional practice of advanced practice hospice/palliative nursing
  • The individual has made contributions at the advanced practice level in at least one of the following areas of hospice/palliative care: clinical practice, education, or research
  • The individual provides leadership through mentorship of others in hospice/palliative care
  • All nominations are reviewed and the recipient is selected by the Awards Selection Committee of HPCC

Applications are due July 1, 2024

HPCC ACHPN® of the Year Award Recipients
2024 – Julie Findley, ACHPN®

Julie Findley is a family nurse practitioner for Hospice of the Western Reserve in Ohio. She is a mentor for new hires within her company, a trainer for the End-of-Life Nursing Education Consortium (ELNEC), and a subject-matter expert for an online modular program. In her work and community, she advocates for integrating palliative topics in primary care.

2018 – 2023
  • 2023: Rachel Mann Sabolish, AGNP-C, ACHPN®
  • 2022: Tracy Shamas, MSN, APRN, FNP-BC, ACHPN®
  • 2021: William E. Rosa, PhD, MBE, ACHPN®, FAANP, FAAN
  • 2020: Erin Yvonne Perez, DNP, APRN, ANP-C, AGNP-C, ACHPN®
  • 2019: Erica Frechman, MSN, AGPCNP-BC, ACHPN®
  • 2018: Deborah Medakovich, MSN CNS, ACHPN®