CHPN® of the Year Award

The Certified Hospice and Palliative Nurse of the Year Award presented by the Hospice and Palliative Credentialing Center recognizes the work of all hospice and palliative nurses from across the country.

Recipients will receive:

  • HPCC covers the cost of renewal for the CHPN® certification
  • Award with engraving 
  • Travel to an HPNA Annual event (if applicable)
  • Certified Hospice and Palliative Nurse (CHPN®)
  • Members of the HPCC board, Examination Development Committees, and Awards Selection Committee are ineligible
  • The individual personifies excellence in the professional practice of hospice/palliative nursing
  • The individual has made contributions in at least one of the following areas of hospice/palliative care: clinical practice, education, or research
  • The individual provides leadership through mentorship of others in hospice/palliative care
  • All nominations are reviewed and the recipient is selected by the Awards Selection Committee of HPCC

Applications are due July 1, 2024

HPCC CHPN® of the Year Award Recipients
2024 – Mary Mack, MSN, RN, PHNA-BC, CHPN®

Mary Mack is a level IV palliative care staff nurse at Kaiser Permanente Medical Center in Walnut Creek, California, where she is known for excellent patient care and the ability to educate her patients and families with compassion. As a public health nurse, she created a brochure on comfort feeding to assist families with this challenging topic. She is involved in her institution’s ethics committee and local community.

2018 – 2023
  • 2023: Tonya Kuhl, RN, BSN, CHPN®
  • 2022: Gertrude Kozak, BSN, RN, CHPN®
  • 2021: Amisha Parkeh de Campos, PhD, RN, CHPN®
  • 2020: Tammy Stokes, MSN, CHPN®, RN-BC
  • 2019: Bernadette Dugan, RN, CHPN®
  • 2018: Petti-Jeanne Sheldon, RN, CHPN®