CHPLN® of the Year Award

The Certified Hospice and Palliative Licensed Nurse of the Year Award presented by the Hospice and Palliative Credentialing Center recognizes the work of all hospice and palliative licensed/vocational nurses from across the country.

Recipients will receive:

  • HPCC covers the cost of renewal for the CHPLN® certification
  • Award with engraving 
  • Travel to an HPNA Annual event (if applicable)
  • Certified Hospice and Palliative Licensed Nurse (CHPLN®)
  • Members of the HPCC board, Examination Development Committees, and Awards Selection Committee are ineligible
  • The individual personifies excellence in the professional practice of hospice/palliative practical/vocational nursing
  • The individual seeks opportunities for the advancement of knowledge and experience in hospice/palliative licensed practical/vocational nursing practice
  • The individual provides leadership through mentorship of others in hospice/palliative care
  • All nominations are reviewed and the recipient is selected by the Awards Selection Committee of HPCC

Applications are due July 1, 2024

HPCC CHPLN® of the Year Award Recipients
2024 – Dianna Leitch, LPN, CHPLN®

Dianna Leitch is employed by the Hospice of Western Reserve in Ohio and has been a hospice aide since 2010 and certified since 2015. She is involved in an End-of-Life Doula Program, spiritual care, and music therapy. She is often referred to as “the calm within the storm” and is highly regarded among her patients and their families as well as her peers and colleagues.

2015 – 2020
  • 2020: Krista Jackson, LPN, CHPLN®
  • 2019: Cassie Baughman, LPN, CHPLN®
  • 2017: Susanne May, LPN, CHPLN®, CHA
  • 2016: Shelly Thomas, LPN, CHPLN®,
  • 2015: Kimberly Simmons, LPN, CHPLN®