CHPCA® of the Year Award

The Certified Hospice and Palliative Care Administrator of the Year Award presented by the Hospice and Palliative Credentialing Center recognizes the work of all hospice and palliative care administrators from across the country.

Recipients will receive:

  • HPCC covers the cost of renewal for the CHPCA® certification
  • Award with engraving 
  • Travel to an HPNA Annual event (if applicable)
  • Certified Hospice and Palliative Care Administrator (CHPCA®)
  • Members of the HPCC board, Examination Development Committees, and Awards Selection Committee are ineligible
  • The individual personifies excellence in clinical practice as a hospice/palliative care administrator
  • The individual has made contributions to hospice/palliative care administration
  • The individual provides leadership through mentorship of others in hospice/palliative care
  • All nominations are reviewed and the recipient is selected by the Awards Selection Committee of HPCC

Applications are due July 1, 2024

HPCC CHPCA® of the Year Award Recipients
2024 – Jason Colbert, CHPCA®

Jason Colbert is the chief executive officer of Community Hospice in Vidalia, Georgia. He is a well-respected member of the community, and he has been dedicated to the hospice and palliative care community for many years. His positive outlook toward the end of life influences all he encounters.

2016 – 2023
  • 2022: Judith Cranney, MS, RN, CHPCA®
  • 2021: Judy Bartel, MSN, ACHPN®, CHPCA®, FPCN
  • 2019: Sarah Thirlwell, MSc, MSc(A), RN, AOCNS, CHPN®, CHPCA®
  • 2017: Robert Phillips-Plona, MSN, MBA, RN, CHPN®, CHPCA®
  • 2016: Amy Scheu, MSN, CHPCA®